The CECAD Executive Board

Headed by the Scientific Coordinator, the Executive Board is the most important instrument for the strategic leadership of the Cluster. The Executive Board decides on the budget, personnel and scientifically relevant issues as well as engages the partners in long-term strategic directions and decisions.

Current members


Scientific Coordinator

Prof. Dr. Carien Niessen

Prof. Dr. Carien Niessen CECAD

Scientific Coordinator, Principal Investigator,
Department Cell Biology of the Skin

Vice Scientific Coordinators

Prof. Dr. Thomas Benzing

Prof. Dr. Thomas Benzing CECAD

Principal Investigator, Clinic II for Internal Medicine, University Hospital of Cologne

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Hoppe

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Hoppe CECAD

Principal Investigator

Executive Board Members

Prof. Dr. Filipe Gomes Cabreiro

Prof. Dr. Filipe Gomes Cabreiro CECAD

Principal Investigator
Head of Research Area 3

Dr. Anne Schäfer

Principal Investigator
Director Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing
Head of Research Area 2

Prof. Dr. Björn Schumacher

Prof. Dr. Björn Schumacher CECAD

Principal Investigator
Chair for Genome Stability in Ageing and Disease

Dr. Gilles Storelli

Dr. Gilles Storelli CECAD

Principal Investigator  

Prof. Dr. Aleksandra Trifunovic

Prof. Dr. Aleksandra Trifunovic CECAD

Principal Investigator
Head of Research Area 1

Prof. Dr. Mirka Uhlirova

Prof. Dr. Mirka Uhlirova CECAD

Principal Investigator 

Permanent Guests

Prof. Dr. Jens C. Brüning

Prof. Dr. Jens C. Brüning CECAD

Principal Investigator
Director of Max Planck Institute for Metabolism Research
Director of Center for Endocrinology, Diabetes and Preventive Medicine

Prof. Dr. Gereon Fink

Prof. Dr. Gereon Fink CECAD

Dean of Medical Faculty, University of Cologne

Prof. Dr. Georg Bareth

Dean of Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, University of Cologne